Favre Is In The Pro Football HOF, T.O. Will Have To Wait One More Year

Terrell Owens was a five time first team All Pro and is currently sixth in NFL history in catches with 1,078. But that wasn’t enough to earn him a place in this year’s Pro Football Hall of Fame selection. Owens, who is also second in receiving yards with 15,934 and third in receiving touchdowns with 153, has great stats but it looks like the off-field controversy kept him from being selected this year. Rick Gosselin of the Dallas Morning News said that Owens candidacy was discussed for more than 43 minutes.

T.O. had an amazing career, helping the 49ers advance in the playoffs with a game winning catch, making a quick recovery for the Super Bowl against the Patriots and scoring a number of touchdowns for the Cowboys, Bills and Bengals.

One name that did make it in right away was Brett Favre, who was the first quarterback in NFL history to pass for 500 touchdowns and throw for more than 70,000 yards. The former Falcons, Packers, Jets and Vikings quarterback is a one time Super Bowl champion and the only player to win the AP MVP Award three consecutive times.

Reports also revealed a few minutes ago that wide receiver Marvin Harrison, linebacker Kevin Greene, coach Tony Dungy and offensive tackle Orlando Pace were the other players selected. 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo, quarterback Ken Stabler and guard Dick Stanfel were also selected. DeBartolo is known for his successful 23 year ownership of the 49ers, where he won five Super Bowls. Ken Stabler, a one time Super Bowl champion, was the fastest to win 100 games as a starting quarterback, setting the record in 150 games. Dick Stanfel was nominated in 1993 and 2012 before being selected this year. He is a two time NFL champion, five time Pro Bowl and one time Super Bowl champion.

The most notable name was Terrell Owens, he will probably be selected next year as his stats are just too good to be left out of discussion. Quarterback Kurt Warner and running back Terrell Davis were also finalists who did not make it into this year’s Hall of Fame.

Owens congratulated the 2016 HOF class and thanked his fans for their support through a tweet.

What do you think about the selections? Who needs to be in next year? Let us know in the comments.