Friday, June 2, 2023

How to Delete Facebook Account Permanently – 2018 Guide

We’ve all been there

It seems like Facebook’s reputation is become less and less favorable by the day. From privacy issues to technical bugs to disliking how the website’s primary demographic has changed, people have a lot to be dissatisfied with from this social media giant. A lot of people have Facebook accounts, though. I personally have a Facebook account that I use for websites that require Facebook logins, but I don’t use it for anything other than that. If you happen to have a “dummy” Facebook account that you’re looking to get rid of, I can help you out.

Facebook’s menus aren’t really as simple as I think they could be, and it can be a little hard figuring out how to delete your account. Before we get started, it’s important to understand that there’s a distinction between deleting your account and deactivating it. When you deactivate your account, you’re basically closing it down, but still leaving yourself the option to go and open it again. This is well-suited for people who are looking to take a Facebook break. However, in this article, we’ll be talking about permanent deletion. This is when you click a button, and you never see your Facebook account again. It’s gone forever.

It’s also worth noting that, when you delete your account, it isn’t just immediately gone. You’re only submitting a deletion request. You have 14 days to change your mind until your account really is deleted. If you follow these steps and you immediately regret deleting your account, all you have to do is log back in to cancel the deletion request. It’s really that simple. Otherwise, click and forget.

Method 1: Permanent deletion

facebook-help-center
This is the Facebook help center, as seen from a desktop web browser. You’re going to be using the menu on the left side of the screen for most of this.

First, you’re going to want to log in to your Facebook account. Once you’re logged in, scroll to the very bottom of the page and find the ‘Help’ menu option in the bottom-right corner of the screen. You’re going to be greeted by a nice little Q&A searching page. You’re going to use the menu on the left-hand corner of the screen to find the deletion option. (Facebook really hides it from you.) Click ‘Manage Your Account’, then ‘Deactivating and Deleting Accounts’. Now, on the right-hand side of the screen, you’ll see a lot of questions, which can be clicked to open their answers.

To delete your account, you need to click the answer that reads “How do I permanently delete my account?”. Facebook will tell you about how the deletion process is irreversible, how they advise that you download all of the photos and data you may have been storing, and so on. It’s time to get to brass tacks. Click the “let us know” permalink, which will take you to the page that allows you to delete your account. You’ll be taken back to the Facebook main website, and greeted by a little blue prompt. Click “Delete My Account”. Next, you just have to input your password, and pass a quick security check. Click the white “OK” button at the bottom of the window, and you’re all done.

You should be kicked back to the Facebook login screen now. If you ever change your mind, just log back in and click “Cancel Deletion Request” to get your account back. Otherwise, in 14 days, your account will be completely erased. It’s as easy as that. You can repeat these steps in a web browser on any mobile device, and you should see the same success.

Method 2: Deactivation

Maybe you didn’t understand the difference of deactivation and deletion before, and you’re realizing that deactivation is probably the better option for you. If that’s the case, you should be happy to know that deactivation is a lot easier to do than deletion. Remember, when you deactivate your Facebook account, people won’t be able to search for you on Facebook and they won’t be able to see your Timeline, but some information, like messages you have sent people, are still visible. Plus, your information is still being stored, so that you can reactivate your account and find your photos and friends list waiting for you. This is a good option for someone who is trigger-shy, or who has a lot of stuff on their Facebook that they’re hesitant to delete entirely.

deactivate-facebook-survey
This is the little survey that Facebook has you fill out prior to deactivation.

First, log in to your Facebook account. Click the account menu symbol on the top right corner of the screen, and navigate to ‘Settings’. From the menu on the left-hand side of the screen, select ‘Security’. A lot of new options will appear on the right-hand side of the screen. At the very bottom of the list, you should see an option that reads ‘Deactivate Your Account’. Click this option, and a menu will drop down with a button that says ‘Deactivate your account’. Click this button. Now, you will be prompted to enter your password. Answer the little survey that Facebook has for you, and then click the blue button that says ‘Deactivate’. Another menu will pop up. Click ‘Deactivate’ again.

And that’s that. Easy as pie. If you feel inclined to return. all you have to do is log back in. Until then, your Facebook profile is basically in limbo, in that it’s neither deleted nor active. Half measures aren’t always great, but in this case I think it’s a bit of an exception. If you have any difficulty following these instructions, let me know in the comment section, and I’ll try to help you out!

 

jakedbriscoe@gmail.com'
Jake Briscoe
Jake is passionate about everything tech, film, and gaming related. If he's not writing you can probably catch him at a local sporting event or coffee shop.
RELATED ARTICLES

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Read