10 Recent WWE Title Reigns You Probably Don’t Remember

WWE has several championships and they don’t often change hands. There have been times when they have changed hands in a matter of days or hours. The list of brief reigns has gotten even longer in recent years, with some just lasting two weeks or even less than that. Here are ten recent WWE title reigns that you probably don’t remember:

Zack Ryder – WWE Intercontinental Championship

A lot of us were surprised when Zack Ryder climbed the ladder at WrestleMania 32 and became the new WWE Intercontinental Champion. That was all over a day later when The Miz got a rematch and he regained the title. The Miz has since held the title several times while Zack Ryder has never won it again.

Jinder Mahal – WWE United States Championship

Jinder Mahal has held the WWE Championship and United States Championship in one year. His WWE Championship win was shocking but there was another shocking victory at WrestleMania 34. Mahal defeated Randy Orton, Rusev and Bobby Roode to become the new US Champion. That title reign was over quickly though as Jeff Hardy would challenge him and win. Jeff Hardy was then sent to WWE SmackDown during the superstar shakeup and he is still the US Champion.

Randy Orton – WWE Championship

Randy Orton’s recent title reigns have not been very long. The Viper won the WWE Championship at WrestleMania 33 and would lose it just a month later. The loss was one of the most shocking of 2017 as it came against Jinder Mahal, who had lost many matches in the past and had never won that title. Orton would later lose another title to Mahal but that was a lot less shocking than the first loss.

Bray Wyatt – WWE Championship

Bray Wyatt had a good end to 2016 and beginning to 2017 as he captured the WWE SmackDown Tag Team Championships and WWE Championship during that time. The title reigns weren’t long but it was a lot better than the zero title wins he had before that. Bray Wyatt’s WWE Championship reign was very short as he would go on to lose the title to his former ally Randy Orton at WrestleMania 33.

Dolph Ziggler – WWE United States Championship

Dolph Ziggler left fans with so many questions when he decided to vacate the United States Championship a few months back. Ziggler vacated the title and never returned to compete for it. Ziggler later returned at the Royal Rumble and he was actually a favorite for many since he had been away for some time and had vacated the US title. He didn’t win that match, leaving fans with even more questions on why he vacated the title. Ziggler is now part of a tag team with Drew McIntyre, who recently made his main roster debut.

Bray Wyatt and Randy Orton – WWE SmackDown Tag Team Championships

Bray Wyatt first feuded with Randy Orton but they would later go on to win the WWE SmackDown Tag Team Championships. The win was a little bit shocking but that quickly ended with another feud between Harper, Wyatt and Orton. The tag titles were lost and this was part of a few title reigns that didn’t go long for Orton and Wyatt.

John Cena – WWE Championship

John Cena held the WWE Championship not too long ago but that run was one of many short ones that we saw for the title. This reign wasn’t a good one for Cena but he has won so many titles that it’s difficult to remember all of them.

Akira Tozawa – WWE Cruiserweight Championship

Akira Tozawa was the first to end Neville’s amazing Cruiserweight Championship run. The title reign didn’t last very long as Neville would defeat him for title just a few days later. Neville would later lose the title, which was then vacated after Enzo Amore was released from the company. Cedric Alexander later became the new champion after winning the final of the tournament at WrestleMania 34.

Roman Reigns – WWE Intercontinental Championship

In November 2017, Roman Reigns became a Grand Slam Champion after winning the WWE Intercontinental Championship. Two months later, The Miz won back the Intercontinental Championship. In April, Seth Rollins became a Grand Slam Champion, which means that all of The Shield members have accomplished this.

Randy Orton – WWE United States Championship

In March, The Viper finally won the WWE United States Championship, becoming a Grand Slam Champion. Orton would lose the title less than a month later at WrestleMania 34. The winner in that match was Jinder Mahal, who had also shocked the world a few months back after defeating Orton for the WWE Championship.



Previous articleRalph Tresvant Net Worth 2018
Next articleKareem Abdul Jabbar Net Worth 2018
Sean Farlow
Sean Farlow
University graduate with a bachelor's degree in business administration. Big fan of sports teams from South FL.