Facebook To Stream BIG3 Games After Fox Sports Deal

American social networking company Facebook will live stream BIG3 games after reaching a deal with Fox Sports. The league, founded in 2017, features 3-on-3 basketball games with several former NBA players.

Each week, one BIG3 game will stream exclusively through Facebook beginning on June 22. The games are part of the 2018 season, which will end in late August. The playoffs will broadcast on Fox or FS1.

With the deal, the social networking company will get the rights to stream nine regular season games. Facebook will also get game highlights and segments for all the 37 games of the regular season.

The deal brings even more sports content to the social media site. Last year, the site made several additions for sports fans. One of those additions was the rights to live stream 47 college basketball games. Earlier that year, the company made a huge bid for the Indian Premier League but it came second.

In March 2017, Facebook, MLS and Univision Deportes reached deals to stream matches through the page. In December, Facebook and WWE reached a deal to live stream a mixed tag team tournament through the page.

The BIG3 league was created by Ice Cube and entertainment industry executive Jeff Kwatinetz. The league is all about basketball but there are a few differences between the BIG3 and NBA.

The first big difference is that the BIG3 has a 50 point limit, meaning that the first team to reach 50 wins. The games are played on a half-court and there are only three starters for each team. The shot clock is only 14 seconds and each team receives two timeouts.

The league currently features former NBA players such as Nate Robinson, Rashard Lewis, Baron Davis, Brian Scalabrine, Carlos Boozer, Kwame Brown, Al Harrington, Jermaine O’Neal and many others.

The first game of the BIG3 league on Facebook will be between the 3 Headed Monsters and Ghost Ballers. The 3 Headed Monsters currently have Reggie Evans, Rashard Lewis, Kwame Brown, Damien Wilkins, Salim Stoudamire and Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf while the Ghost Ballers have Mario West, Mike Bibby, Ricky Davis, Marcus Banks, Carlos Boozer and Lee Nailon.

The Ghost Ballers and 3 Headed Monsters were two of the four teams that advanced to the playoffs last season. The MVP award was won by Rashard Lewis after he recorded 21.3 PPG. The first championship game was won by team Trilogy, which had an undefeated season.